On May 23, 2017, nearly 150 people packed the Grimes Lounge at Johnson C. Smith University as the Charlotte Mecklenburg Black Chamber of Commerce (CMBCC) highlighted our 2017 class of 30 Under 30 honorees. A mixture of entrepreneurs and business professionals ages 30 and under were recognized as current or up-and-coming leaders in their industries and fields of expertise.

Attendees networked with the honorees as well as elected officials, community leaders and other supporters. Keynote speaker Toussaint Romain told the story of Ralph Metcalfe, runner-up to Jesse Owens in the 100-meter dash at the 1936 Olympics. He stressed the importance of legacy and being laser-focused, noting Metcalfe's journey to a successful political career and establishing the Congressional Black Caucus.  

Planning for the 2018 event will begin soon. If you or someone you know would like to be considered for the 2018 class, or if you would like to be a sponsor, contact us at info@cmbcc.org.

Ms. Alicia Cobb

Building Endurance

Ms. Ashley Hunt

Bella Boca PR

Ms. Ashley Stevens

NC Department of Health & Human Services - Mecklenburg County DSS

Ms. Asia Neighbors-Evans

Balfour Beatty Construction

Ms. Asia Wilson

Centralina Council of Governments

Ms. Briana Lemon

Ascend Designz

Ms. Brittany Gardner


Ms. Candace Williams

Journey Pillow

Ms. Carniece Greene

Curl Confessions

Mr. Centario Grier

New York Life

Ms. Charity Mullins

Ai Charlotte

Ms. Christine Edwards

Mecklenburg County Government

Ms. Danielle Dawkins

Support Inc.

Mr. Darryl Bellamy

Bellamy Inspires

Ms. Deborah Nazaire

Bank of America

Mr. Hillman Evans IV

InnerGreatness Motivations

Ms. Imani Bryant

LoveHeart Boutique

Mr. Kallan Louis


Mr. Khaleel Loyd

Loyd Visuals

Ms. Maritza Adonis

MTA Visions

Mr. Marvin Price

Charlotte Regional Partnership

Ms. Megan McLean


Mr. Michael Baker

Urban League of Central Carolinas Young Professionals

Mr. Nate Turner

Your Custom Catering

Mr. Nick Miles

Principal Financial Group

Ms. Qulia Bryant

SBM Realty Advisors

Ms. Ricketa Mangum


Ms. Solita Jefferies

Mecklenburg County Public Health

Mr. Travis Jackson

HBCU Pride Nation